On the 12th - 14th December, 2016 OYSIEC had a town hall meetings with political parties, stakeholders, youth leaders, civil society organizations, traditional rulers, security agencies across the three senatorial districts of the Oyo State.


The New Commission under the leadership of MR. JIDE AJEIGBE,warmly welcomes you


The Oyo State Independent Electoral Commission (OYSIEC) came into being by the State Law No. 2, Cap. 18, Vol. 3 of 2002 but in force on the 31st day of October, 2004 in compliance with section 197 (1) (B) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended. Part II of the third schedule of the same Constitution states as follows. 

The Commission shall have power:

To organize, undertake and supervise all Elections to Local Government Councils within the State;

To render such advise as it may consider necessary to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on the compilation of the Register of Voters in so far as that register is applicable to Local Government Elections in the State. In addition to this, section 10 of the Law stipulates:-

To clear and or disqualify candidates intending of contest Local Government Elections in the State and other matters that are necessarily incidental to their functions; and

To carry out such other functions as may be conferred on it by Law. An example of this is the conduct of Voters Education to Create awareness on the electorate on matters pertaining to Elections.


The Commission had conducted elections into the thirty-three (33) local government council in the state on four (4) occasions 2002,2004,may 2007 and december 2007.






Oyo State has 4,783 Polling Unit which may likely be increased to 5,620 units

2015 post election data

Copyright (c) 2017 FOSIECON.